Red Herrings and Wild Goose Chases
As the Lost Experience has grown, so has the amount of false information and illegitimate clues. Because of the level of expertise many of the players of this game possess, some of these false clues appear polished and professional. From fake blogs to homemade orientation videos, the missinformation is mounting. I've created this post to collect and expose this false information. If you come across what you believe to be a fake clue or you are aware of a false clue that already exists, post it in the comments section. As we collect this information, I will add it to the main post for easier access. Please keep your comments clear and concise - provide links and explain why you believe the information is unofficial. By exposing the frauds, we hope to help players of all levels navigate the game more effectively.
Patrick
Patrick



24 Comments:
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
This guy's not real, right?
I just can't believe that Alvar Hanso has a blogger account.
I've seen lots of people saying he's real and linking to him, but I just can't believe it. It's too easy.
from that site you posted dtm:
Alvar Hanso died peacefully at his home 20/06/06 in Copenhagen, aged 82. He is survived by his only son, Magnus Anders Hanso. Arrangements for the new leadership of the Hanso Foundation will be made in due course. Namaste. (TM)
oukay....
don't think so
Great job, dudes! Will there be an RSS feed for this blog?
www.haveyouseensarah.com
Almost certainly not real...
Hmmm. Let me think.
Orientation video on youtube http://youtube.com/watch?v=87iY776hcsA&search=dharma
www.retreiversoftruth.com. Although it came out almost the same time as the real ROT site, going to the fake site just forwards you to another site on the web that has been around for longer. Definitely not legit.
I will let you know if more come to mind.
The many hidden references on the real ROT site suggesting that it is fake make me think that other than the "porter" password and getting to the forum, the main ROT page is fake and that none of the info there will lead to anything meaningful.
I believe but could be wrong.
Although Flower of Life Enterprises was mentioned in the 6/21 DJ Dan podcast, apparently floweroflife.com is a legitimate if extremely whacky site which has been around for years.
The Egyptian symbolism on the main page looks like a Lost tie-in for sure. But, it seems not.
I often wonder if the hugh mcintyre interview on jimmy kimmel was one big red herring. The most recent evidence from rachel blakes blog re-inforces that it was not really peter thompson.
Great intro piece guys!!!
Peace & Namaste
since walt is portrayed to be "special," wouldnt it make sense for his dog to be too?
I dont see why patrick. Walt is special because he is walt. Unless he can somehow transfer special tnings onto others.
www.retreiversoftruth.com. I ran into this site a LONG time ago...weird!!!!
I cant remember exactly but I believe I was searching for cloning maybe? But yah, I remember that one WAY before the ROT site came up!!
Thats wild!
Comment above:
"not really peter thompson" should have been hugh mcintyre. Sorry.
I would like to mention the "Hanso Industries" Hoffett film as being a probable hoax.
I have heard of the hoffett film but it eludes me for the moment. Which one is that again?
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
oopsie.. posted that in the wrong place... haha
I think I may have got stuck in one of these traps today...LOL
The new Gary Troup video saga. I ran around in circles today trying to verify where the video came from. I know it showed up on kinetic's profile on myspace, and that led to a goose chase to find out if it was "in-game".
Someone was nice anough to bring up what they knew....appearently kinetic is a hacker who got the video by hacking sublymonal. Long story, but it APPEARS for now that kinetic is NOT in-game.
I have more info if you need to elaborate on this.
Thanks for this post though, it is going to aid LOTS of people!
What about this mandrake wig guy on myspace. He's got a picture of the Dr. from the ROT main page.
BTW does anyone else realize that both the pictures are totally Photoshopped somehow. I think that maybe we should compare pictures? overlap or something... I think it's some sort of clue
http://www.myspace.com/mandrakewig
Chongo - so far there has been no definitive support that MW is in or out of game. I believe from reading comments, that most believe he is in game, since we have received info on him from both DSLerator and SPEAKER. I believe we will find out for sure on the RoT Saturday post. Apparently Team Lena may have some kind of "shout out" on RoT regarding a correspondence with Mandrake Wig. If an allusion to the conversation surfaces on the RoT board, I believe we will be able to consider MW "official" and "confirmed".
http://www.oceanicairlines.com/ Ok now is this in game or not- HELP I dunno where else to see if it's a lead or not...Ugh
Here are a few new ones that I haven't seen on the blog before
http://whereisalvarhanso.com/
and in the source code I found this: L2A5M6B3D2A4I3O8T8A7E9P3S1I8L5O5N12D3O6T2C8O8M
when seperated gives you: http://lambdaiotaepsilon.com
It is a frat of sorts for the leaders of tomorrow. Anyone want to check it out and see what you think?
I can't make any call except that it is simple html code. Usually you can't index folders on in-game sites. http://lambdaiotaepsilon.com/Images/
So I think it really is a fake. but check it out.
Post a Comment
<< Home